Lancôme foundation, primer and a sponge that works miracles

For a long time the journey to find the perfect foundation for my combination skin was an endless challenge. That was until I came across the Lancôme counter in Debenhams.

Last summer I decided to try a few samples from various brands (YSL, Urban Decay, Lancôme to name a few). This was mainly to find the perfect, flawless cover for my wedding day back in October but also for every day use.

The moment I started using this foundation I knew it was the one. The smell is extremely inviting, a nice floral smell rather than the typical ‘foundation’ smell that I hate. The cover is amazing, a little goes a long way which is good as it has a £30 price tag.

20170114_154122.jpg

If you are looking for a really natural coverage then this foundation is for you! The great thing about this one is that you can keep building up the coverage if you want to, maybe for a night out or a wedding etc. You will never get that ‘cakey’ look!

20170114_154132.jpg

The best thing to mention is that it does last all day! I never thought I would find a foundation that promises the 24h staying power. It even stays on my face after a 30 minute run home from work!

Real Techniques Miracle Sponge

Shortly after purchasing my first bottle of Lancôme foundation I got chatting to my sister about applying makeup. It was at that point that she suggested using a sponge rather than my fingers (bad practice to use fingers to apply makeup I know…).

I have tried a few now (beauty blender, superdrugs own etc.) but for me, the Real Techniques Miracle Complexion Sponge is perfect for me! Honestly I have no idea why it has taken me so long to discover this egg shaped sponge.

20170114_154154.jpg

The combination of the foundation and the sponge makes me feel so good about my skin, for anyone that knows me this is a huge plus as I have spent years obsessing over my skin! I always make sure the sponge is damp prior to using it, this usually makes it easier to achieve excellent coverage and gives a more natural look.

The sponge is a slightly different shape to others I have seen on the market. The back of the packet has handy instructions on how to use each side, very helpful!

20170114_154250.jpg

20170114_154350.jpg

After use you just give it a quick wash with handwash and leave it to dry! Or leave the cleaning until the morning so that your sponge is nice and clean just before you use it.

I usually purchase a new sponge every few months so they do last a while. You can buy them in packs of two or individually, keep an eye out for offers – Superdrug do a lot of ‘buy one get one half price’ which helps to keep the costs down. At a cost of roughly £5 each it really is worth trying!

Miss Sporty Insta Glow Primer

Now you might be thinking that the Miss Sporty brand is designed for teenagers with the very low price tag on most items, branding etc. I have been looking for a primer for years and have tried hundreds with not much luck.

I did a bit of research online and found a few blog posts about how good the Miss Sporty brand really is, great! At the time it was 3 items for £5 in my local Superdrug so decided to buy the primer along with a mascara and eyeliner too. A nice midweek treat all for £5!

20170114_154217.jpg

This primer is lovely and feels so nice when applying it to my skin after moisturising. It has a lovely glow to it which acts as a nice base before applying my Lancôme foundation. I am so pleased I love it, great to know it won’t break the bank either.

The mascara and eyeliner are both really good too, give them a go!

Overall I feel like I have finally found the perfect products that work for me and my needs. Have you tried any of these products? Let me know what you think of them in the comments below.

Sian x

Leave a Reply

